skip to main content

Information for...

You are here

Other Databases

Find newspapers, data, maps, multimedia, primary sources, and more.  Or search for articles here.

American Rhetoric

sound
video
Access: 
Open Access
  • More info

    This broad ranging web site exploring all aspects of rhetoric includes an Online Speech Bank of over 5.000  audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded media events.

    See also Top 100 Speeches, Movie Speeches and more.

    Subjects: 
    Art, Media & Design, Humanities
    Detailed subjects: 
    Communications Studies

ARL Statistics Online (Association of Research Libraries)

Access: 
Current NU (on-campus use only)
  • More info

    This edition of the ARL Statistics describes the collections, staffing, expenditures, and service activities for the 126 members of the Association of Research Libraries (ARL) in fiscal year 2010-2011.

    Subjects: 
    Humanities, Interdisciplinary, Social Sciences
    Detailed subjects: 
    Education

Art, Design and Architecture Collection (ProQuest)

Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    A comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.

    Subjects: 
    Art, Media & Design, Engineering, Humanities
    Detailed subjects: 
    Architecture, Art & Design

Atlas of North American English

sound
Access: 
Open Access
  • More info

    Based on interviews and reflecting sound changes active in the 1990s, this online version includes audio files and interactive maps, as well as descriptive information and references.

    Subjects: 
    Social Sciences

BBC Shakespeare Plays Online

sound
video
Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    The entire BBC Shakespeare, produced in the 1970s and 1980s, now viewable from any computer or other device connected to the internet.  These productions include some of Britain’s most distinguished performers, and productions range from quite traditional to more adventurous.  View the plays in their entirety, or link to specific Acts for teaching and presentation; turn Closed Captioning on or off with a single click.

    Subjects: 
    Art, Media & Design, Humanities
    Detailed subjects: 
    Art & Design, English & American Literature, Film Studies, Theatre

BIOSIS Citation Index  (1993 - Current)                                                        

Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    A comprehensive view of life sciences research, including the most important discoveries, significant influences and relevant connections. BIOSIS Citation Index combines the unique BIOSIS content that is critical to life sciences research with powerful citation indexing.

    Subjects: 
    Science

Burger's Medicinal Chemistry, Drug Discovery and Development

Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    This online version of the 7th Edition of the major reference work, offering access to broad coverage of medicinal chemistry and drug discovery for new, as well as experienced, medicinal chemists, biologists, pharmacologists, and molecular biologists.

    Subjects: 
    Science, Biomedical & Health
    Detailed subjects: 
    Chemistry, Pharmacology

Center for Research Libraries

Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) collects and makes available important and rare collections of primary source materials, as well as thousands of foreign dissertations, historical journals, and newspapers from around the world.

    The collections are so varied as to include an unpublished manuscript music collection from Oxford, the vast engineering library of Linda Hall, and rare monograph and pamphlet area collections from various regions of the world. For example, the Sutro Library Mexican collection includes over 3,000 titles from the 1500-1900 time period, covering cultural, economic, political, religious, and social themes in Mexican history.

    These collections are made available in print, in microfilm, and, in many cases, online. Faculty, students, and staff are eligible to borrow resources through an extended delivery system or, when available, through electronic delivery or online.  See our Subject Guide to the Center for Research Libraries for more information. 

    Subjects: 
    Interdisciplinary

Chicago Manual of Style

Access: 
Current NU plus alumni
  • More info

    Provides information on manuscript preparation, punctuation, spelling, quotations, captions, tables, abbreviations, references, bibliographies, notes, and indexes, with sections on journals and electronic media.

    Subjects: 
    Interdisciplinary

CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online

Courtesy of the NU School of Law
Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    A wide range of scholarship in international affairs, including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. 1991 to the present.

    Subjects: 
    Government & Law, Social Sciences

Current Chemical Reactions (1986 - current)

Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    Current Chemical Reactions® delivers the latest synthetic methods reported in over 100 of the world's leading organic chemistry journals. Each reaction provides complete reaction diagrams,critical conditions, bibliographic data, and author abstracts.

    Subjects: 
    Science

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, DSM 5

Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders in searchable full text. 5th edition.

    Subjects: 
    Biomedical & Health, Science, Social Sciences
    Detailed subjects: 
    Psychology

EDGAR

Access: 
Open Access

Encyclopedia of Education (Gale Cengage)

Courtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System.
Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    An electronic version of Macmillan's 8-volume second edition (2003) with entries describing the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features include 121 biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full text primary source documents including education related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.

     

    Subjects: 
    Social Sciences
    Detailed subjects: 
    Education

FDsys

Access: 
Open Access
  • More info

    Full-text access to essential federal publications, including the current U.S. Budget, Congressional Record, and Federal Register.

    Subjects: 
    Government & Law, Social Sciences
    Detailed subjects: 
    Government

Freedom House Photographs

NU Libraries Digital Collections
Access: 
Open Access
  • More info

    Over 2400 images and photographs selected from the Freedom House records held in the NU Libraries, Archives and Special Collections. The images date from 1950-1975 and document early activities to create an integrated Roxbury; citizen participation in the urban renewal of Roxbury; and early oversight of Boston Public Schools desegregation.

    Subjects: 
    Art, Media & Design, Humanities, Social Sciences

Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale Cengage)

Courtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System.
Access: 
Current NU Only

Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body (1918 edition)

Access: 
Free Web Resource
  • More info

    The free Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy features 1,247 engravings from the classic 1918 publication, and is searchable and indexed by subject.

    For up-to-date anatomy information, please use AnatomyTV from Primal Pictures (NU Login required). 

    Subjects: 
    Biomedical & Health

Historical Statistics of the United States

Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    A classic 2-volume reference work containing statistics about the United States has been updated and is now available online from Cambridge. Tables of statistics include information about population, slavery, the economy, and much more. Download in Excel or .csv. Sorting, graphs and plots available.

    Subjects: 
    Government & Law, Social Sciences
    Detailed subjects: 
    Economics, Government, History, Political Science

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)

You must register for a myData account in order to access some reports.
Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    ICPSR is a non-profit membership-based data archive based at University of Michigan. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

    Subjects: 
    Social Sciences

International Historical Statistics

Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    International Historical Statistics is an impressive and peerless collection of statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. The collection includes data on the Americas and Europe, but also hard-to-find data on Africa, Asia and Oceania. It is a truly interdisciplinary product that will prove a valuable resource to those researching and studying Business, Economics, Environmental Studies, Geography, History, Politics, Sociology and Statistical Studies.

    Subjects: 
    Interdisciplinary

Latin American Newspapers 1805-1922 (World Newspaper Archive)

Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

     

    Latin American Newspapers, Series 1—part of CRL's World Newspaper Archive—features 50+ historical Latin American newspapers. Titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues, and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922.

    Subjects: 
    Government & Law, Humanities, Interdisciplinary, Social Sciences

LexisNexis Academic

Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    Up-to-date business and legal information is the strength of the LexisNexis Academic service. It allows you to search for newspapers, periodicals, public records, and legal documents, often within 24 hours of publication, and in some cases going back 20 years. Most documents are available in full text.

    If you experience problems printing from Lexis Nexis, try one of these solutions:

    • Download the article to PDF.   Open and print the PDF.
    • Use the browser print button instead of the Lexis-Nexis built in button.
    Subjects: 
    Business & Management, Government & Law, Social Sciences
    Detailed subjects: 
    Business, Government, Law, Political Science

London Times (Gale Cengage)

Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    London Times access *not including the Sunday edition* from 1785 to 1985. Also known as The Times Digital Archive, and published under the name Times of London.  An invaluable source for primary historical research.

    Subjects: 
    Interdisciplinary

MERIP

Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    Information and analysis of the Middle East including the Middle East Report, which provides news and analysis not generally found in mainstream sources.  Independent with no links to other educational, religious, or political organizations.  

    Subjects: 
    Social Sciences

New York Amsterdam News: 1922-1993 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    This resource allows researchers to search for full articles in the New York Amsterdam News. Searches provide a PDF of each article as well as an abstract.

    Subjects: 
    Humanities, Interdisciplinary
    Detailed subjects: 
    History

North Carolina Court System

Access: 
Open Access
  • More info

    The official web site for North Carolina state courts.  

    Subjects: 
    Government & Law
    Detailed subjects: 
    Government, Law

North Carolina General Assembly

Access: 
Open Access
  • More info

    Use this web site as a tool to track bills, find and communicate with your State House and Senate representatives, and to follow meetings and issues before the General Assembly.

    Subjects: 
    Government & Law
    Detailed subjects: 
    Law, Political Science

Northeastern University Historical Photographs

NU Libraries Digitial Collections
Access: 
Open Access
  • More info

    A growing collection of images relating to the University from 1902 to the present. In the collection, you will find representations of academic programs, student life, faculty, the campus, athletics, and University events including commencement.

    Subjects: 
    Humanities, Interdisciplinary

Oxford Bibliographies

Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    Developed with scholars worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offer authoritative research guides, featuring enyclopedic entries and annotated bibliographies on scholarship across a wide variety of subjects: Anthropology, Atlantic History, Cinema and Media Studies, Communication, Criminology, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latino Studies, Public Health, Sociology and Victorian Literature. 
     

     

    Subjects: 
    Biomedical & Health, Humanities, Interdisciplinary, Social Sciences

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature

Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    Surveys the vibrant terrain of American literature in 350 essays from leading scholars, encompassing the range and depth of American literary history from the 1600s to the present day. (Published in 2004)

    Subjects: 
    Humanities
    Detailed subjects: 
    English & American Literature, Literature

PsychiatryOnline Premium Collection

Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    PsychiatryOnline Premium Collection includes diagnosis and differential diagnosis tools, case vignettes, multidisciplinary treatment guidelines, journals and books. It includes full text for the following titles:
     
    ·       DSM-5™ (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition)
     
    ·       DSM-5™ Handbook of Differential Diagnosis
     
    ·       The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry, 5th Edition
     
    ·       Gabbard's Treatments of Psychiatric Disorders, 4th Edition
     
    ·       Textbook of Psychotherapeutic Treatments
     
    ·       The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Geriatric Psychiatry, 4th Edition
     
    ·       Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
     
    ·       The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Substance Abuse Treatment, 4th Edition
     
    ·       The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Psychopharmacology, 4th Edition
     
    ·       Manual of Clinical Psychopharmacology, 7th Edition
     
    ·      Textbook of Traumatic Brain Injury, 2nd Edition

    Subjects: 
    Biomedical & Health

PubMed

Access: 
Open Access
  • More info

    Open-access version of Medline, the health information clearinghouse from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to full text for authorized NU affiliates.  Information on supported browsers.

    Subjects: 
    Biomedical & Health
    Detailed subjects: 
    Athletic Training, Geriatrics & Gerontology, Health Sciences, Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Physical Therapy, Physician Assistant, Respiratory Therapy

Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI)

Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    Science and technology citation and abstract information including original research articles, reviews, editorials, chronologies from over 7,000 journals. Cited reference searching allows you to track prior research, see who is citing your work, measure the influence of someone's work, and navigate forward, backward and through the literature of your discipline. Linked to EndNoteWeb.
    Covers 1975 - present

    Subjects: 
    Science

South Asia Newspapers 1864-1922 (World Newspaper Archive)

Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

    Subjects: 
    Interdisciplinary

TRAIL: Technical Report Archive and Image Library

Access: 
Open Access
  • More info

    A large collection of U.S. Federal Technical Reports issued prior to 1975, including historical government documents from the U.S. National Bureau of Standards, the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission, the U.S. Bureau of Mines, and more. Technical reports communicate research progress in technology and science, and often contain plans, surveys, or data that was the most up-to-date at the time. Provided through our Center for Research Libraries membership.

    Subjects: 
    Engineering, Government & Law, Social Sciences

Treatise on Estuarine and Coastal Science

Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    Written by a team of international expert scientists, the Treatise on Estuarine and Coastal Science examines topics in depth, and aims to provide a comprehensive scientific resource for all professionals and students in the area of estuarine and coastal science.

    Subjects: 
    Science
    Detailed subjects: 
    Marine and Environmental Science

U.S. History in Context (formerly History Resource Center US) (Gale Cengage)

Courtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System.
Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    Access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.

    Subjects: 
    Social Sciences
    Detailed subjects: 
    History

Value Line

Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    This company and industry research service includes the flagship ValueLine Investment Survey (Standard and Expanded), plus Mutual Fund Survey, Daily Options Survey, Special Situations Service, and Convertible Survey.

     

    Subjects: 
    Business & Management
    Detailed subjects: 
    Business

WebMD

Access: 
Free Web Resource
  • More info

    WebMD is a leading ad-supported publisher of credible and timely health information for consumers. Experts in medicine, journalism and health communications provide news and information on health conditions with links to related articles, news, videos, blogs, slideshows, quizzes, discussions and supportive communities. Other features include drug and supplement information, first aid treatments, health, wellness and nutrition guides and many engaging interactive calculators and tools. One-time registration required to access some features.

    Subjects: 
    Biomedical & Health
    Detailed subjects: 
    Allied Health, Athletic Training, Geriatrics & Gerontology, Health Sciences, Nursing, Nutrition, Physical Therapy, Physician Assistant, Respiratory Therapy, Speech Pathology & Audiology

World Development Indicators

Access: 
Free Web Resource
  • More info

    Access to more than 700 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2006. WDI offers chart and data export formats. Indicators include statistics on national and per capita income, trade, health, environment, and other measures of development.

     

    The World Bank: The World Bank authorizes the use of this material subject to its terms and conditions.

     

    Subjects: 
    Business & Management, Government & Law
    Detailed subjects: 
    Business, Economics, Government, International Affairs

World History in Context (Gale Cengage)

Courtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System.
Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    An online collection that provides multicultural, global and research-based content that supports research in history from ancient times to the present. World History in Context offers students and researchers  access to a broad collection of scholarly analysis and full-text periodicals, reference works and primary documents, including Journal of World History, History Review and The Historian.

    Subjects: 
    Humanities, Social Sciences
    Detailed subjects: 
    LGBT Studies, History, Jewish Studies, Women's Studies

WRDS: Wharton Research Data Services

Provided courtesy of the D’Amore-McKim School of Business
Access: 
Current NU Only
  • More info

    Wharton Research Data Services, or WRDS, is a web-based data management system from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania that allows faculty and students to retrieve information from a wide variety of financial, economic, and marketing data sources.

    WRDS is best known for its holdings of historical financial data from CRSP and COMPUSTAT. This data covers over 30,000 companies and includes security prices and trading volume, income and balance sheet items. We provide access to IBES' analyst projections for earnings and sales. WRDS also contains stock market indices, bond prices and interest rates, mutual fund and stock ownership information, options data, and a wide array of macroeconomic time series. International data, marketing and industry reports, and web usage data are also available on WRDS.

    Subjects: 
    Business & Management
    Detailed subjects: 
    Business