AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill is an innovative online resource that provides access to more than 50 medical titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of photos and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to download content to a mobile device.
A comprehensive online resource for pharmaceutical education,AccessPharmacy from McGraw-Hill provides powerful tools to meet the changing demands of today’s pharmacist.
A comprehensive online resource for physical therapy education,AccessPhysiotherapy from McGraw-Hill provides powerful tools to meet the changing demands of today’s physical therapist. This groundbreaking platform features the complete contents of physical therapy textbooks and resources such Orthopaedic Examination, Evaluation, and Intervention; Pharmacology for the Physical Therapist; Therapeutic Modalities for Rehabilitation; Imaging in Rehabilitation; and much more.
This collection of historical African newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive provides coverage of the people, cultures, issues and events that shaped the continent.
Detailed subjects:
African-American Studies, Anthropology, Business, History, International Affairs, Political Science, Sociology
Contains information needed by medical and scientific researchers, writers, and editors to produce well-organized, clear, readable, and authoritative manuscripts.
The Manual home page allows you to navigate quickly and intuitively. You can use the quick search feature, which searches the full text of the Manual, or you can navigate using the left-side menu to jump to any section of the Manual.
Detailed subjects:
Allied Health, Athletic Training, Biology, Health Sciences, Medicine
Includes "Early American Newspapers, Series I, II & III", cover-to-cover fully text-searchable facsimile images of over 1,000 historical newspapers from all 50 states from the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries. Access for Massachusetts residents only, courtesy of Boston Public Library e-card.
Based on the American Antiquarian Society's landmark collection, this database offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. Access for Massachusetts residents only, courtesy of Boston Public Library e-card.
Digitized images of the pages of 1000 American magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1940. Titles include Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine, the first American professional journals, and several consumer magazines still in publication, such as Vanity Fair, Harper's Bazaar, and Ladies' Home Journal. The search interface allows you to search the complete text, including tables of contents. Articles are downloadable in PDF format. Updated daily.
The core content of this work reviews and analyzes the process by which aspirants to the American presidency have campaigned for the support of the national electorate and how voters have made their selections from 1789 to the present day. Content includes primary documents, images, chronologies, and state-by-state analysis of election results.
This broad ranging web site exploring all aspects of rhetoric includes an Online Speech Bank of over 5.000 audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded media events.
AP Images, a division of The Associated Press, is one of the world's largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery of history, news, sports and entertainment. An essential source of photographs and graphics.
Contains unique primary source material relating to nearly every aspect of United States history from over three centuries. Coverage: 1639-1980. Access for Massachusetts residents only, courtesy of Boston Public Library e-card.
Detailed subjects:
English & American Literature, History, Literature
Art and Architecture complete offers full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books, plus indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. Includes an image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, photography, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images. See system requirements for optimal use.
Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines including aerospace, biomedical and solar. Provides electronic access to books, special technical publications and all issues of all ASTM journals. Includes the full text of all current ASTM standards. Downloadable.
Based on interviews and reflecting sound changes active in the 1990s, this online version includes audio files and interactive maps, as well as descriptive information and references.
The entire BBC Shakespeare, produced in the 1970s and 1980s, now viewable from any computer or other device connected to the internet. These productions include some of Britain’s most distinguished performers, and productions range from quite traditional to more adventurous. View the plays in their entirety, or link to specific Acts for teaching and presentation; turn Closed Captioning on or off with a single click.
Detailed subjects:
Art & Design, English & American Literature, Film Studies, Theatre
Biographies, current and historic, with related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers. Pictures, links to vetted websites. Search for people by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text. Some obituaries. Formerly Biography Resource Center.
Access courtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System.
A primary source database for essays, articles, speeches, books, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. Includes unique, fugitive, and never-before-published materials.
One of the largest collections of bibliographic information about published books, even those not yet in library collections. Can be used to verify titles, publishers, and publication dates, or to find new titles.
The documents, images, and posters in this digital collection were selected from the Inquilinos Boricuas en Acción records and the La Alianza Hispana records held in the Northeastern University Libraries, Archives and Special Collections Department. These records available in this online collection document public policy formation, community relations, affordable housing, urban planning and housing rehabilitation, cultural and educational programming, violence prevention, and minority rights in Boston during the last decades of the 20th century.
This online version of the 7th Edition of the major reference work, offering access to broad coverage of medicinal chemistry and drug discovery for new, as well as experienced, medicinal chemists, biologists, pharmacologists, and molecular biologists.
Provides data, analysis, ratings, rankings, and forecasts for 175 countries and 22 industry sectors. Integrates country risk, analysis of financial markets, and industry research.
Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. Detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors. Searchable by company and industry also. Includes marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Information to help you publish your journal article, including acceptance rate and refereed status of thousands of journals. Cabell's Directories include addresses, phones, e-mails and web sites for journals. Northeastern University has access to the following directories from Cabell's: Educational Curriculum & Methods, Educational Psychology & Administration, Educational Technology & Library Science, Psychology & Psychiatry, Health Administration and Nursing.
Detailed subjects:
Education, Health Sciences, Librarianship, Nursing, Psychology
Provides information on manuscript preparation, punctuation, spelling, quotations, captions, tables, abbreviations, references, bibliographies, notes, and indexes, with sections on journals and electronic media.
Proquest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849- 1988). The historical Chicago Tribune collection offers both full page and article digital images in PDF format with searchable full text.
A wide range of scholarship in international affairs, including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. 1991 to the present.
Classical Scores Library contains hundreds of thousands of pages of classical music scores. Northeastern has access to: Classical Scores Library, Volume I. Pages can be printed and annotated.
The Collected Works of John Dewey, 1882-1953: The Electronic Edition is primarily a critical reading text that offers unprecedented access to Dewey's work.
A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database, Compendex contains over 9 million records, and references over 5,000 international engineering sources including journals, conferences, and trade publications. 1969 to present, updated weekly.
Alexander Street Counseling provides video for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Users can create, edit and share playlists or clips. The library has Volume 1.
Congressional Quarterly's portal for research in US government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes CQ's Politics in America, as well as other almanacs, data, and news publications.
Calculate business ratios that identify key relationships between financial data. 14 key business ratios cover all critical areas of business performance, broken down into median figures, with upper and lower quartiles. Arranged by Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Codes.
The Digital National Security Archive contains a comprehensive set of declassified government documents. The resource now includes 38 collections consisting of over 94,000 indexed documents, with more than 650,000 total pages. Each of these collections covers critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century. Glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs are included.
Provides a comprehensive index to all open access, scientific and scholarly peer-reviewed journals. Supported by a network of public and private publishers and foundations. (All titles also included in the NU Libraries E-journal Finder.)
Diverse American recorded music, from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and beyond, available for streaming.
Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans, this collection provides full-text primary source material covering every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America. Upon completion, the collection will consist of more than 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images. Access for Massachusetts residents only, courtesy of Boston Public Librarye-card.
Based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and supplemented by thousands of new items,this collection covers every aspect of American life during the early nineteenth century with full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides. Search full text or browse within sixteen indexed subject categories. Coverage: 1801-1819. Access for Massachusetts residents only, courtesy of Boston Public Library e-card.
Virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700, with digital facsimile page images.
Education in Video is an online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Upon completion, the collection contains 4,306 titles totaling 1,301 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. It will give education faculty, students, and in-service teachers a single source for the best research-based professional development video resources available.
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles.
This database has content that ranges from journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings to guides, templates, forms, sample business plans and tips from entrepreneurs in a variety of formats - from video to downloadable Word and Excel files, as well as text and PDFs.
Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
The Europa World of Learning is a comprehensive directory of academic institutions worldwide. Primarily arranged by country the directory includes colleges and universities, international organizations, regulatory and representative bodies, learned societies, research institutes, libraries and archives, museums and art galleries.
Facts & Comparisons® contains authoritative and comprehensive drug information with unbiased, reliable information. In addition to descriptions, generic and commercial names, dosage, warnings, it includes a drug/disease indications database, dosage, body measurement, and general pharmacology calculators, patient handouts, and much more for the health professional, and pharmacy and pharmacology researcher.
Identifies and evaluates the most important articles in biology and medical research publications. The selection process comprises a peer-nominated global 'Faculty' of the world's leading scientists and clinicians who rate the best of the articles they read and explain their importance.
On average, 1500 new evaluations are published each month; this corresponds to approximately the top 2% of all published articles in the biological and medical sciences.
More than 1,200 reports that help IT decision makers, vendor company executives, government IT administrators, IT specialists, IT project directors, business managers, and researchers learn about and keep up with the issues, trends, market conditions, products, services, and vendors in the IT and communications industries.
Art, Media & Design, Humanities, Interdisciplinary, Social Sciences
Access:
Current NU Only
More info
195 videos are currently available for streaming. To set up course playlists, or recommend new titles, faculty should contact their subject specialist.
Requires Windows Media Player 9 or above, or QuickTime 6.0 or above (MAC). Full-screen view not available for Macs. Closed captioning is available.
A brief introduction to the legal systems of 190 foreign countries and jurisdications, a list of codifications, gazettes and other sources of law. Also, it identifies any available English translations. Searchable by country, subject, or keyword.
Over 2400 images and photographs selected from the Freedom House records held in the NU Libraries, Archives and Special Collections. The images date from 1950-1975 and document early activities to create an integrated Roxbury; citizen participation in the urban renewal of Roxbury; and early oversight of Boston Public Schools desegregation.
Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library. In-depth coverage of specific cancer types, diagnostic procedures, treatments, cancer side effects, and cancer drugs. Published in 2006.
A collection of encyclopedias covering topics in the Arts, Biography, Business, Environment, History, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Science and Social Sciences. Includes the Business Plans Handbook and the International Directory of Company History.
Reprints full articles from women's studies magazines and newsletters (including some that are hard to find in print), as well as some scholarly journals. Some articles go back to the 1970's. You can browse a list of subjects or search by key words.
A database of over 9,000 "funding opportunities in every field from agriculture to zoology." A database of experts in academic disciplines is also available. Supports email alerts.
Biomedical & Health, Government & Law, Interdisciplinary, Science
Access:
Current NU Only
More info
Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE is an informative resource for anyone concerned about our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles, and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.
The 93rd Edition, 2012-2013, of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a vast almanac of facts, tables, and statistics about mathematics and the physical world. It is one of the most used handbooks in the sciences. The online version allows for expanded functionality over the print; in particular, interactive tables that allow you to customize data by filtering just what you need and sorting colunmns. You may search all text, tables, or CAS registry numbers, and export or email the information to yourself.
Online seminars on biomedical topics, including audio lectures and supplemental materials such as slide and notes, by faculty members and researchers from around the world.
A classic 2-volume reference work containing statistics about the United States has been updated and is now available online from Cambridge. Tables of statistics include information about population, slavery, the economy, and much more. Download in Excel or .csv. Sorting, graphs and plots available.
You must register for a myData account in order to access some reports.
Subject:
Social Sciences
Access:
Current NU Only
More info
ICPSR is a non-profit membership-based data archive based at University of Michigan. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.
Provides access to standards, specifications and related technical documents from military, commercial, national and international standards organizations (except ASTM* and IEEE)
To view and print a complete standard:
Select the Standards Expert
Type in a search or an acronym e.g. ISO and standard number e.g. 658
Click on details and confirm if that is the standard wanted
Click on order next to the standard number
Complete the form using your neu.edu e-mail address for delivery
Electronic version must be requested when available
All requests reviewed and approved by the library within 2 business days (an email confirmation will be sent when processing is complete)
Standard must be viewed and printed within 48 hours after approval
For questions contact j [dot] omoruyi [at] neu [dot] edu(Joan Omoruyi)(617-373-2806) or l [dot] bracken [at] neu [dot] edu(Lee Bracken)(617-373-2748)
*ASTM available in paper in Snell Reference TA401 .A653
A historical archive of the Illustrated London News, the world's first pictorial weekly newspaper, from 1842-2003. Includes over 260,000 pages in full facsimile, fully searchable.
International Historical Statistics is an impressive and peerless collection of statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. The collection includes data on the Americas and Europe, but also hard-to-find data on Africa, Asia and Oceania. It is a truly interdisciplinary product that will prove a valuable resource to those researching and studying Business, Economics, Environmental Studies, Geography, History, Politics, Sociology and Statistical Studies.
News as well as company and financial data from more than 80 emerging markets in Asia, Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe, the Middle East, and Africa. Also known as EMIS: Emerging Markets Information Service.
A multidisciplinary view into the study of Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present. Content within the collection is meant to cover all facets of Judaism and multiple areas of study. Over 350 full-text titles including academic journals, abstracts of monographs, newspapers and periodicals, including complete Jewish Telegraphic Agency wire service articles from 1922 to the present.
Evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Journal Citation Reports can show you the:
Latin American Newspapers, Series 1—part of CRL's World Newspaper Archive—features 50+ historical Latin American newspapers. Titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues, and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922.
Business & Management, Government & Law, Social Sciences
Access:
Current NU Only
More info
Up-to-date business and legal information is the strength of the LexisNexis Academic service. It allows you to search for newspapers, periodicals, public records, and legal documents, often within 24 hours of publication, and in some cases going back 20 years. Most documents are available in full text.
If you experience problems printing from Lexis Nexis, try one of these solutions:
Download the article to PDF. Open and print the PDF.
Use the browser print button instead of the Lexis-Nexis built in button.
London Times access *not including the Sunday edition* from 1785 to 1985. Also known as The Times Digital Archive, and published under the name Times of London. An invaluable source for primary historical research.
Lynda provides online access to over 1500 on-demand courses on hundreds of subject areas, including office productivity, audio, video, and web software, as well as business and job skills. New courses are added to Lynda every week to keep pace with ever-changing technology and skill needs. Login with your myNEU username and password.
Provides company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world. Includes company SWOTs, company overviews, industry profiles, case studies, financial deals, country analysis, news and a statistics database covering over half a million data points for 215 countries and 46 political and geographic groupings.
Authoritative information on biomedicine and health, also including some nursing, dentistry, veterinary, health policy, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. The majority of the publications covered are scholarly journals, a small number of newspapers, magazines and newsletters are also included. Created by the National Library of Medicine, and the equivalent of PubMed. This Ebscohost version includes links to NU's full text journals, and can be searched with CINAHL and PsycInfo.
Real-time and historical, authoritative, first-source business intelligence about events affecting public corporations, such as dividend declarations, corporate milestones, leverage acquisitions, and more.
Access to detailed global company information, including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form. If you are off-campus, click here. (Best used with Internet Explorer)
Mergent WebReports is an online database that allows you to access a vast archive of corporate and industry related documents. WebReports contains more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries using an easy to navigate and reliable system.
Includes Digital Corporate Manuals and the Digital Municipal & Government Manuals.
Please note: This resource is NOT to be used in Clinical settings.
Subject:
Biomedical & Health
Access:
Current NU Only
More info
Evidence based information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine to to support informed research on clinical and treatment decisions.
A daily newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
Detailed subjects:
Business, Economics, Government, International Affairs, Political Science
Search Jazz Music Library and Smithsonian Global Sound together for an international collection of streaming music. Includes the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music.
Ready access to S&P Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and The Outlook.
This resource allows researchers to search for full articles in the New York Amsterdam News. Searches provide a .pdf of each article as well as an abstract.
The Historical New York Times collection offers both full page and article digital images in PDF format with searchable full text back to the first issue. Magazine and classifieds included. Go to "Advanced Search"--> "Look up citation" to find a specific article by author, title, page, date and more.
Rich primary source database with over 150,000 pages of diaries and letters from 1,325 women. Keyword-searchable and with some pre-selected sub-collections of primary sources arranged around important historical events. Also includes author biographies and bibliographies for further research.
Detailed subjects:
History, Women's Studies, English & American Literature
Use this web site as a tool to track bills, find and communicate with your State House and Senate representatives, and to follow meetings and issues before the General Assembly.
A growing collection of images relating to the University from 1902 to the present. In the collection, you will find representations of academic programs, student life, faculty, the campus, athletics, and University events including commencement.
Access courtesy of the D’Amore-McKim School of Business
Subject:
Business & Management
Access:
Current NU Only
More info
Financial information on 53,000 companies worldwide (42,000 are non-US companies).
The information includes: standardized and "as reported" financials (including restated reports), SEC filings, detailed earnings estimates,recommendations, ownership, stock data, news and ratings.
Windows and Internet Explorer recommended for this database.
Biomedical & Health, Humanities, Interdisciplinary, Social Sciences
Access:
Current NU Only
More info
Developed with scholars worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offer authoritative research guides, featuring enyclopedic entries and annotated bibliographies on scholarship across a wide variety of subjects: Anthropology, Atlantic History, Cinema and Media Studies, Communication, Criminology, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latino Studies, Public Health, Sociology and Victorian Literature.
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography contains over 58,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles, and who died in or before 2008. Authoritative in-depth articles include likenesses and detailed lists of additional sources.
Surveys the vibrant terrain of American literature in 350 essays from leading scholars, encompassing the range and depth of American literary history from the 1600s to the present day. (Published in 2004)
Covers the history of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin). It includes substantial accounts of individual authors (e.g., Spenser, Pope, Austen) and detailed histories of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions. (Published in 2006)
A bibliographic database with informative author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940.
Combines a comprehensive, editorially maintained database of grants and other funding opportunities worth an estimated $33 billion, along with a database of 3 million pre-populated scholar profiles. Users may search for funding opportunities and view matching faculty from inside or outside Northeastern University. Conversely, a search for scholars will link to matching funding opportunities based on their research profiles. You may register to receive alerts whenever new matching opportunities are posted that match certain criteria. Pivot replaces three previous COS (Community of Scholars) databases: Expertise, Funding Opportunities, and Scholar Universe.
Polling the Nations is a compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by over 1000 polling organizations in the United States and 100 other countries from 1986 to the present time.
Detailed subjects:
Business, Government, International Affairs, Political Science
All historical primary source documents from ProQuest, including American Periodicals Series (1740 - 1940), Ethnic Newswatch (1959 - present), Boston Globe (1872-1981), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1988), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), The New York Times (1851-2008), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002). For more primary sources, see our full list of primary source databases.
Open-access version of Medline, the health information clearinghouse from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to full text for authorized NU affiliates. Information on supported browsers.
Art, Media & Design, Biomedical & Health, Business & Management, Humanities, Interdisciplinary, Science, Social Sciences
Access:
Current NU plus alumni
More info
This includes all Sage Reference titles to which Northeastern University subscribes -- encyclopedias and handbooks for a wide variety of subject areas such as business, criminology, education, political science, psychology, sociology, and more, as well as research methodologies.
Includes sports business resources such as market research, government statistics, news, international publications, research, and directories. Offers detailed data on sport participation, fan profiles, sports facilities, sport finance, sporting goods, sponsorship, marketing, and media.
Science and technology citation and abstract information including original research articles, reviews, editorials, chronologies from over 7,000 journals. Cited reference searching allows you to track prior research, see who is citing your work, measure the influence of someone's work, and navigate forward, backward and through the literature of your discipline. Linked to EndNoteWeb.
Covers 1975 - present
A mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, health, crime, and marketing data variables including Mediamark and Simmons Consumer Data. Data from the year 2000.
Detailed subjects:
Business, Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Government, Health Sciences, Political Science
An international network of music audio archives grounded in the mission of the Smithsonian's Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage. Offers access to the "smaller voices" of people all over the world via digital downloads. Aims to heighten communication among and about people and cultures, accomplished principally through the culturally potent, meaning-laden medium of music, accompanied by informative notes, images, videos, educational features, and lesson plans.
A searchable database of media rates and information; the largest and most comprehensive in the world, with more than 100,000 U.S. and international media properties, circulations, advertising rates. Includes Local Market Audience Analyst (available with Internet Explorer in Windows only).
Business & Management, Government & Law, Social Sciences
Access:
Current NU Only
More info
Statistical DataSets provides data from licensed and public domain datasets within an easy-to-use interface. Browse contents or search topics and and view your data in tables and charts.
Detailed subjects:
Business, Economics, Government, International Affairs
A website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. The site includes links and multimedia materials that include thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 classroom. Some Spanish language material is included, additional functions and content are available to those who create a personal profile.
ThomasNet includes the Thomas Register, a resource designed to bring together industrial buyers and sellers nationally, regionally, and locally. Includes directory information, product news, CAD drawings and white papers.
Written by a team of international expert scientists, the Treatise on Estuarine and Coastal Science examines topics in depth, and aims to provide a comprehensive scientific resource for all professionals and students in the area of estuarine and coastal science.
Important documents of the United States Congress including reports, journals (1817-1952), Senate executive documents, treaties (after 1978), committee reports, executive reports to congress, and more.
Access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
This company and industry research service includes the flagship ValueLine Investment Survey (Standard and Expanded), plus Mutual Fund Survey, Daily Options Survey, Special Situations Service, and Convertible Survey.
WebMD is a leading ad-supported publisher of credible and timely health information for consumers. Experts in medicine, journalism and health communications provide news and information on health conditions with links to related articles, news, videos, blogs, slideshows, quizzes, discussions and supportive communities. Other features include drug and supplement information, first aid treatments, health, wellness and nutrition guides and many engaging interactive calculators and tools. One-time registration required to access some features.
Early modern women's writings from 1400 to 1850. Includes searchable full-text of books, poetry, and speeches as well as browse by date, author, and title. Exhibits and teaching tools also available.
Access to more than 700 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2006. WDI offers chart and data export formats. Indicators include statistics on national and per capita income, trade, health, environment, and other measures of development.
The World Bank: The World Bank authorizes the use of this material subject to the terms and conditions on its website, http://www.worldbank.org/terms.
Detailed subjects:
Business, Economics, Government, International Affairs
Courtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners
Subject:
Humanities, Social Sciences
Access:
Current NU Only
More info
An online collection that provides multicultural, global and research-based content that supports research in history from ancient times to the present. World History in Context offers students and researchers access to a broad collection of scholarly analysis and full-text periodicals, reference works and primary documents, including Journal of World History, History Review and The Historian.
The Europa World of Learning is a comprehensive directory of academic institutions worldwide. Primarily arranged by country the directory includes colleges and universities, international organizations, regulatory and representative bodies, learned societies, research institutes, libraries and archives, museums and art galleries.
Provided courtesy of the D’Amore-McKim School of Business
Subject:
Business & Management
Access:
Current NU Only
More info
Wharton Research Data Services, or WRDS, is a web-based data management system from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania that allows faculty and students to retrieve information from a wide variety of financial, economic, and marketing data sources.
WRDS is best known for its holdings of historical financial data from CRSP and COMPUSTAT. This data covers over 30,000 companies and includes security prices and trading volume, income and balance sheet items. We provide access to IBES' analyst projections for earnings and sales. WRDS also contains stock market indices, bond prices and interest rates, mutual fund and stock ownership information, options data, and a wide array of macroeconomic time series. International data, marketing and industry reports, and web usage data are also available on WRDS.
JCI reports such as journal lists ranked by impact factor download as .txt files. Here's how to view them formatted in Excel: after you "Save to File" in JCI, open Excel, then File-Open and...